We are all just sitting ducks. If you are uncomfortable with that, I’m sorry.

You’re on your own. No one is going to protect you. You might have thought someone was going to protect you but you were wrong.

Maybe this is what the young men in the central city have figured out. No one is going to protect them but them. The only person without a gun is a dead person, they figure. So they get a gun. They understand that there is no protection. We’re all sitting ducks.

There is no vaccine, no mosquito net, no insulin, no seat belt. There is no speed limit, no safety check, no blood alcohol limit. A car can come speeding at you at a hundred miles an hour because there are no rules. There is no protection. We’re all sitting ducks.

A madman can poison our water, snip the brake line of the commuter train, ignite the asbestos hanging in strips from the attic that goes uninspected because, remember, we are all on our own. There is no protection. We’re all sitting ducks.

I was taught to be my brother’s keeper. But I can’t.

My brother’s on his own. He’s a sitting duck.

He’s alone and so am I. There is no protection.