FullSizeRender (13)

Pink still means something to me. I know it’s not supposed to. I know pink has been exploited, used for profit and for keeping girls in their place. Pink is trite, the flag of gender stereotyping, the dog whistle of sexism, making it easier for those inclined to elbow women to the side.

I know all of this but pink still means something to me.

FullSizeRender (12)

Today, the official start of the Iditarod 1,049 mile sled dog race across Alaska, pink means warrior.

It means Dee Dee Jonrowe running her 34th Iditarod at the age of 62. And she’s not just an old broad that everyone thinks is cute for trying again. She’s finished in the top ten 15 times. She’s endured broken bones and frostbite to finish races. She raced three weeks after finishing chemotherapy for breast cancer.

She’s one tough lady and pink is her color.

Today, it’s mine, too.