A ramp-up to Mother’s Day…..

Red's Wrap

Jan - Purple 2

I’m in a stage of my life where I am wanting mothering to have been one of the things I’ve done but not the only thing or even, maybe, the most important thing. Part of my wanting to get out from under the mothering mantle is its constant evaluative dimension. Maybe one doesn’t get tired of being a mother. Maybe one gets tired of being judged as a mother.

Yesterday, a Facebook friend posted that one day she was the world’s greatest mother and the next day the worst mother who ever lived. It sounded to me as if one of her kids was issuing these labels, if I had to bet, I would guess it was her daughter.

I responded to her by saying eventually you’ll end up somewhere in the middle and added “I’m still waiting.”

The pendulum swings about my mothering performance are no longer day to…

View original post 497 more words