Will people let you be well when that time comes? An important question.

Red's Wrap

If this note had been left on my pillow when I was 19, I would have been offended. Advice from any corner, even my future 65 year-old self, would be an insinuation that I wasn’t running my own life well. And even if it was true that almost nothing was right, my time spent in fluttered reactions to events considered catastrophic, I would have turned away from whatever the note said, although I probably would have put it in the back of the Bible my mother gave me or with the packet of letters I kept in The Prophet, both on the shelf above my dorm room desk.

The note, if I wrote it and if I read it, would say this:

Dear Jan,

You will experience and endure many shit storms in your life. Sometimes the storms’ velocity and terror will make you drop to the floor in tears or careen…

View original post 467 more words