Red's Wrap

It’s that time of year when many people start thinking about adoption. The holidays, families coming together, often are the impetus for serious discussions about adoption.  Frankly, sometimes I wonder why everybody doesn’t adopt children. Other times, I wonder why anyone would. I’m not ambivalent, just multi-faceted.

To help couples who might be starting their consideration of this option, I decided to make a list of the top ten things to think about before you adopt a child. These will not have been things that I, myself, thought about before adopting three children many years ago but that shouldn’t stop the reader from finding them really helpful. Here we go.

#1: Wanting to rescue a child from being an orphan or being in foster care is not a good reason to adopt. The rescue buzz wears off quickly and then the day to day sets in. Rescue is glamorous. Packing lunches isn’t.

#2:…

View original post 508 more words