Red's Wrap

Q: So I’m fascinated by this topic. Just thinking about what it must have been like to have been a single mom in the seventies. Forty years ago. Another world.

A: Yeah. It was a bitch being left alone on the prairie in my covered wagon.

Q: Sorry. I didn’t mean to make it sound like it was that long ago.  So what was it like for you and the other single moms in your community?

A: There weren’t any other single moms in my community. At least, not any I knew. I was the only one. I was an oddity.

Q: Well, so how did that play out, being an oddity?

A: It was weird. Like having an amputated leg. Everywhere I went, I had phantom husband pain. You know, like how people who lose their legs keep feeling pain in their legs, keep feeling like their legs are…

View original post 421 more words