Today was remarkable for having taken this picture of a perfect sea gull, his feathers slightly ruffled, and the light casting the thinnest shadow of his legs, shadows that look like someone took a very sharp #2 pencil and drew shadows where they would be if the sun was shining just so.

I tried to get the gull to look at me but he refused. It was as if he knew his countenance in profile would be more impressive. And it was, I think, though I don’t have a portrait shot for comparison.

Today was remarkable for seeing this mama seal and her baby lolling just yards away on the cliffs of La Jolla Cove. I wanted to hike myself over the little fence and go pet them, feel their smoothness with my hands, see if their little whiskered muzzles were soft like a horse’s. But I didn’t do that. It seemed more out of the ordinary than I prefer to be. Instead, we stood taking pictures, next to a group of Japanese tourists. They came all the way across the ocean, I thought, to see this. So it is pretty worth seeing.

la-jolla-seals

Today was remarkable for seeing this oddly wonderful piece of art perched on the high cliffs of La Jolla. A picture is worth a thousand words. A perfect word is worth the ocean and the sky above. Words like these, I mean.

la-jolla-lifeguard

There were many people walking along the cliffs overlooking the ocean at La Jolla today. Many people who saw the sea gull, the seals, and the green lifeguard box on a pole and all its fabulous words. And we were two of them. It was remarkable and lovely.