The first week of post-Obama American life offered many lessons that might be useful should a similar apocalypse occur in the future. Someone could put my list in a bottle to be retrieved 3,000 years from now when horrible stars again align to produce a grotesque situation for freedom and human rights.

  1. If you go to a movie to escape the reality of a fascist replacing President Obama, the facts of your changed life will be waiting for you like last week’s litter on the sidewalk outside the theater. It doesn’t matter how good the movie was. In my case, it was Moonlight.
  2. There’s probably nothing finer than to march with your family in defense of women’s rights which, as we all certainly remember, are human rights.
  3. If you are already inclined to be a heavy drinker, the current political climate is likely to push you over the edge. I am mindful of the need to pace myself although the pacing will probably start next week.
  4. It makes me sick that my grandchildren will grow up thinking that this is how Presidents act.
  5. It makes me very happy to know those same grandchildren will spend their dinner time talking about justice, fairness, and how to be a fully-involved American citizen.
  6. It’s good to have a great sign. My daughter and granddaughter made the signs for our march in San Diego. They were deluxe. I put mine in my office window when I got back to Milwaukee but it’s soon to go back on a stick for this week’s activities.
  7. I’ve oddly enjoyed watching politicians flap around in their equivocation about this week’s events. Those of us who thought being ethical was sort of a basic, reflexive thing are now learning that it’s a thing to be parsed, doled out only in situations of complete safety.
  8. People who haven’t marched, called, or complained for decades are strapping on their protest boots and hitting the streets. A lot of them are seniors, a group once mobilized could populate the country’s freeways and have spillover on to city streets. I’m part of a group that started the League of Progressive Seniors in Milwaukee. Visit us, we’re way cool.
  9. We have to be careful with this constant churn of events to remember there are other things to think about, write about. I am still doing my annual sock drive for people who are homeless. We might be in turmoil as a country but homeless people still need some decent socks.
  10. People united can never be defeated. A chant from the old days of protesting, it still applies. I see people in the street supporting human rights, freedom of speech, and justice, and I am convinced we will never be defeated.16114287_10212303235035937_3350738764401270056_n