From last year….weather a bit different but always a challenge being up here on Lake Superior. Wouldn’t trade it for the world, though.

Red's Wrap

IMG_4188

Is this foolhardy? That was my first thought. My second thought was that he’d left his cellphone in the car and so wouldn’t be able to text me if he fell over with a heart attack where I couldn’t see him.

How long would I wait before I’d go look? And when I went to look, what would I do? Assuming I could find him in the white out, would I start chest compressions or do a quick wrap-up of our 32 years together, bid adieu and head for the house?

These are the questions one contemplates when one is sitting in a car in a whited-out road at the base of one’s very long driveway that is drifted with snow too deep to jam a truck through.  We’re here by choice. We could be in the city where there are trucks that plow streets and people who shovel driveways…

View original post 546 more words