Red's Wrap

This time of year everyone has a great dad. If your dad is dead or very old, he has become a small legend, a tiny statue with a bobblehead that you can keep on your dashboard so when you pull up to a hot car that your dad might have appreciated, the little guy can bob his head in recognition. It’s the least you can do. Put him there, on the dash, where he can ride along and enjoy the scenery. Automotive-wise.

My dad gets better every year and he’s been gone, as they say, for eleven years. I’ve told the story of our long estrangement many times. He is the hero of that story because after many years of wondering why he didn’t come find me when I was lost, he finally did. He stopped having my mother be the maintainer of family relationships and he took matters into…

View original post 307 more words