Red's Wrap

IMG_5123

“I love you. Your children are wonderful. You’re doing a great job.”

My beautiful daughter, nonprofit executive, wife, mother of three, including 3-year old twin boys, dressed to the nines, looking at three 14-hour days in a row with one big event after another, looked at me with a gratitude that I’d never seen from her. And maybe surprise, I’m not sure.

She left for work then and I went into the airport where I sat in the coffee shop for an hour before my flight’s gate was posted. I was there nice and early, to be sure. It was fine. I had time to wait around. She didn’t. She’s in the thick of it. My thick is past.

And so I came home.

Tonight I’ve been thinking about what I said to her while we were standing at the curb in front of the airport while other cars lined…

View original post 228 more words